Physician Advisory Group

The Physician Advisory Group provides clinical review and guidance related to the design of the physician performance ratings, selection of measures and methods, review of findings, and presentation of results to physicians and the public. The Physician Advisory Group also provides direction on how best to engage the California physician community in the use of data to drive quality improvement and consumer choice. 

Physician Advisory Group Members

Parag Agnihotri, MD, Sharp Rees-Stealy San Diego (Chair)
Jose Arevalo, MD, Sutter Independent Physicians
Jacob Asher, MD, Anthem Blue Cross
James Foxe, MD, Partnership of Drs. James Foxe and William Roach
Paul Grossman, MD, California Academy of Family Physicians
Dipti Itchhaporia, MD, Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian
Jeffrey Mason, MD, UnitedHealthcare of California
Melissa Welch, MD, Blue Shield of California
Neil W. Treister, MD, Sharp Community Medical Group
Fiona Wilson, MD, Brown and Toland Medical Group

Health Plan Operations and Data Committee

The Health Plan Operations and Data Committee harmonizes data collection and aggregation, and provides health plan review and guidance related to the design of program features and the presentation of results to plan members, network physicians and consumers. The Health Plan Operations and Data Committee also makes recommendations to the Board with regard to requests for data use.

Health Plan Operations and Data Committee Members

Blue Shield of California,
Anthem Blue Cross

PAS Committee

The Patient Assessment Survey (PAS) Committee oversees CHPI’s annual survey to assess patient experience with medical groups’ care and services. The PAS Committee is responsible for the survey instrument and the accompanying scoring and reporting methods to ensure valid, reliable, accurate, and useful results for use in the California Pay for Performance Program, consumer selection of providers, and medical group and health plan quality improvement activities.

PAS Committee Members

Chong Kim, PhD, Southern CA Permanente Medical Group (Chair)
Deborah Austin, John Muir/Mt. Diablo Health Network
Stephanie Bamford, RN, Facey Medical Foundation
Judy Baillie, Western Health Advantage
Vanessa Sam, Blue Shield of California
Lea Craig, RN, UnitedHealthcare
Kathleen V. Hunt, Aetna Healthcare of California
Katherine Manuel, PAMF-Mills-Peninsula Division
Marcilyn Littlefield, Hill Physicians Medical Group
Eric Rong, Chinese Community Health Care Association
Heather Ashcroft, Brown & Toland Physicians
Leticia Schumann, Anthem Blue Cross
Carl Serrato, PhD, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan
Samuel Skootsky, MD, UCLA Medical Group
Louba Aaronson, Health Net of California